UNDERGROUND ENGLAND

Janette Beckman- Photographic Genius

Posted in Uncategorized by undergroundshoes on August 15, 2011

I have been doing some research on rock photographers and it gave me the chance to take a closer look at Janette Beckman who I came across a  year back . Janette made her mark in the 70’ and 80’s with documentary style photography of the punk scene and then after that on the Hip Hop scene. That work progressed to major shoots for Italian Vogue , Esquire and Rolling Stone  and album cover work including  The Police, Grandmaster Flash. It is the series of seventies shots of the rockabilly, mod and punk scene that I give a big thumbs up to. Although more than just a bit before my time, they have become part of my own personal photo gallery and  I easily imagine myself  as one of the subjects in the shots . Why was I born so late ????.

More recently Janette has captured the adorable  M.I.A on film .Love it !

Take a look at some of these images and visit www.janettebeckman.com. to appreciate more of this photographer legend.

Leave a comment